CompTIA PDI+ Certification

The Printing and Document Imaging (PDI+) certification from CompTIA is known as an entry-level certification which certifies the competence of an individual in the basic maintenance of devices such as printers, scanners, copiers, fax machines and multi-functional devices (MFD). PDI+ is a vendor-neutral certification, which means the skills and knowledge acquired through this certification are generally applicable to the relevant field regardless of proprietary technologies.

The PDI+ certification is often the requirement for technicians of commercial entities involved in the business of providing d service and support of imaging devices, these include companies such as Canon, Sharp and Xerox amongst others. The PDI+ certification is renowned as a benchmark certification for technicians that deal with the service and support of document imaging devices and sought after by major companies.

Technicians having the CompTIA PDI+ certification are well acquainted with the fundamental electromechanical components, workings of print engines, scan processes, color theory and color calibration, the network connectivity of various imaging devices.

Other knowledge aspects covered by the certification exam include effective communication with customers, customer service and professionalism, problem management tools, applying safety measures and handling environment considerations.

Course Contents

All exam questions are derived from the following five modules which cover the complete scope of the PDI+ exam:

  • Print and Document Imaging Basics
  • Networking
  • Printer Technologies
  • Maintenance and Troubleshooting
  • Professionalism and Communication

Examination Details

While no prerequisites are outlined by CompTIA for the PDI+ certification exam, it is however recommended that entry-level candidates possess foundation-level knowledge and/or practical exposure of handling printers, scanners, copiers etc.

The CompTIA PDI+ certification exam PD0-001 contains 85 questions in total and the allowed time duration is 90 minutes. The exam contains multiple choice questions. A passing score of 675 on a scale of 100 – 900 is required. Available language versions of the exam are English, Spanish, Japanese and German.

The exams can be taken worldwide through both Pearson VUE and Prometric Testing Centers and costs $239 per attempt. The CompTIA PDI+ certification also provides the benefit of life-time validity. 

Exam Objectives

The most current revision of the exam objectives for CompTIA’s PDI+ Certification exam was released in December 2007. The eight main objectives of the exam PD0-001 include the following:

  • Print Engine Process and Components
  • Scan Process and Components
  • General Troubleshooting
  • Basic Electromechanical Components and Tools
  • Connectivity
  • Color Theory
  • Professionalism and Communication
  • Safety and Environment

Candidate can use get training and content for study through the CompTIA Authorized Quality Curriculum which is considered as the best way to study for the CompTIA exams. All training matter of the CAQC program is reviewed and accepted by Industry experts and adhere to firm quality values.

Students utilizing the CAQC study data have the advantage of getting complete coverage of exam objectives and also getting training reviews that helps the students identify their preparation level for the PDI+ certification exam.