CompTIA CDIA+ Certification

The Certified Document Imaging Architect, abbreviated as CDIA+, is a certification which ensures the competency of a professional related to electronic document imaging management solutions which would include skills in document imaging, document management, and enterprise content management. It identifies ensures the knowledge and skills that are required for one to develop systems for the purpose of scanning, storing, and retrieving electronic documents. The CDIA+ certification a unique solution provided by CompTIA and is the only industry recognized certification which currently exists in this field and can be considered a industry standard.

The CompTIA Certified Document Imaging Architect (CDIA+) certification identifies “Architect” level, IT Professionals having the highest experience level in the document imaging industry. The CDIA+ certification significantly increases the market worth and required skills of professionals in the document imaging industry.

The industry recognized CDIA+ certification is respected and approved by prominent imaging industry professionals including Canon, Konica, Ricoh and Kyocera which provide document imaging solutions.

The CDIA+ certification was introduced by CompTIA in 1995. CompTIA created a technical certification that would enhance, as well as support, careers in the document management industry by assembling the leaders of the document management industry, which included systems vendors, distributors, and various consulting organizations, and gathering insight of the necessary and required industry elements.

CompTIA with its CDIA+ certification intends to raise the standards of the document imaging profession and add to the professional authority of individuals who have achieved the CDIA+ certification.

Examination Details

There are no official pre-requisites for the CompTIA CDIA+ Certification but the CompTIA PDI+ Certification is recommended, which helps in getting basic skills and concepts related to Document Imaging, before attempting the CDIA+. Also required and advised are through preparation and gaining considerable knowledge of the skills and concepts involved.

The CompTIA CDIA+ certification exam 225-030 a total contains 85 questions which have to be cleared in 90 minutes. There is available a potential 30 minutes extension for candidates who are non-native English speakers. The required passing score is 700 on a scale of 100-900. Currently the certification is available in the English, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese and French language versions.

The exams can be attempted worldwide through both Pearson VUE and Prometric testing centers and cost $258. The current exam 225-030 is scheduled for retirement at the end of 2011. All candidates who have been CCDIA+ certified before or until 31 December, 2010 will have life-time validity on their certifications where as candidates certified after this date will have CDIA+ certifications which are valid for 3 years and will require renewal by clearing the most recent version of the CDIA+ exam. 

Exam Objectives

The five main objectives of the CDIA+ exam 225-030 include the following:

  • Gathering the Business Requirements
  • Analyzing the Business Processes
  • Recommending Solutions
  • Designing Solutions
  • Planning for the Implementation

CompTIA CDIA+ Practice Exams