CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ Certification

The Security+ Certification is provided by CompTIA, which is a non-profit trade association and provides various professional certifications for the IT industry, all over the world. CompTIA’s certifications including the Security+ certification are recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) which increases their significance in the IT industry.

CompTIA’s Security+ certification deals with computer security focusing on topics which include cryptography and access control. Security+ certification was developed in 2002 in response to the rise in security issues and the availability of certified security professional to mitigate these issues.

Companies and businesses having security awareness regarding their data, information and network architectures are willing to heavily invest to secure these assets. As a result awareness, demand and job opportunities are widely available in the field of IT security and CompTIA’s Security+ certification can provide professionals with the foundation that they need to build a strong career in IT security.

CompTIA Security+ is a vendor-neutral certification which is available internationally. Security+ proves an I.T. professional’s proficiency regarding system security, network infrastructure security, access controls and security on the scale of an organization. Companies that employ CompTIA Security+ certified staff include such prominent companies as HP, Symantec, Motorola, Unisys, Lockheed Martin, Hilton Hotels Corp and also utilized by the United States Armed Forces and the Marines.

CompTIA suggests two years of security‐related hands on work experience and/or technical networking experience for the candidates, although it is not a requirement.

The Security+ exam also provides the advantage of being applied as an elective to Microsoft’s security certifications which include the MCSA: Security and the MCSE: Security specializations.

The exam consists of 100 questions which have to be attempted in 90 minutes. The passing score on a scale of 100 – 900 is 750. The exams are currently available in English & Spanish and costs $258, although CompTIA members are eligible for discounts.

In late 2008 a new and updated version of the exam was released. IT professionals who desire active certification status can either opt for the new version of the exam released in 2008 or they can attempt a bridge exam for the Security+ certification. The bridge exam covering the new objectives is the exam BR0-001 and has 50 questions, which have to be attempted in 60 minutes. Passing score for the bridge exam is 560 on a scale of 100-900. Only those professionals are eligible to be certified through the bridge exam, who are currently certified under the 2002 CompTIA Security+ exam.

Exam Topics

Exams related to the Security+ certification including the (SY0-201) the newer exam (JK0-015)and the bridge exam for Security+ (BR0-001) all are based on the following six major exam objectives, which are required to be covered completely in order to get certified.

  • Cryptography
  • Access Control
  • Systems Security
  • Network Infrastructure Domain
  • Assessments and Audits Domain
  • Organizational Security Domain

CompTIA Security+ Practice Exams

CompTIA Security+ Jobs

CompTIA Security+ Books