CompTIA Server+

CompTIA Server+ Certification

The Server+ Certification is provided by CompTIA, which is a non-profit trade association and provides various professional certifications for the IT industry, all over the world. CompTIA’s certifications including the Server+ certification are recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) which increases their significance in the IT industry.

CompTIA Server+ certification is a vendor-neutral certification for Professionals working in environments or providing technical support to servers. Server+ certification focuses on the knowledge and practical skills of IT professionals regarding server hardware and server operating systems, server specific concepts such as RAID, SCSI, multiple CPUs and disaster recovery.

Professionals certified with CompTIA’s Server+ certification having authenticated technical knowledge and skills which are required in a server based environment including the installation, maintenance, troubleshooting and providing support for server hardware and software. The Server+ exam covers in detail server related procedures such as virtualization, disaster recovery and server security policies.

Exam Requirements

Server+ certification was initially developed in 2001 and was later updated in 2005 and then in 2009. CompTIA’s recommendations regarding Server+ include that the candidates should be having 18 to 24 months of experience related to Industry Standard Server Architecture (ISSA) technology and a CompTIA A+ certification, although the latter is not an official pre-requisites in any way. The latest Server+ certification exam is known as SK0-003 and the exam consists of 100 questions which have to be attempted within 90 minutes. The passing score on a scale of 100 – 900 is 750. The exam is currently available in English language only and costs $239 for each attempt, with discounts available for CompTIA members.

The Server+ certification has the advantage of Lifetime validity and also in the combination forms of A+/Network+, A+/Server+ or with Security+ certifications, It also works a s an elective exam for Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA) certification.

Exam Topics

The latest version of the Server+ certification exam was designed to accommodate the advancements in the server technology field that have occurred since the last exam version of 2005. The latest edition of the Server+ certification known as the Server+ exam SK0-003 covers the following six domains of expertise:

  • System Hardware
  • Software
  • Storage
  • IT Environment
  • Disaster Recovery
  • Troubleshooting

In contrast to the 2009 version of the exam, the previous version, Server+ exam SK0-002 covered the following eight domains:

  • General Server Hardware Knowledge
  • Installation
  • Configuration
  • Upgrading
  • Proactive Maintenance
  • Environment
  • Troubleshooting and Problem Determination
  • Disaster Recovery

Candidates can take the Server+ exams at the Pearson VUE and Prometric testing centers all over the world. Possibility remains that the latest version of the exam SK0-003 will be released internationally in the form of phases as it is translated into other languages. The previous version Server+ exam SK0-002 is expected to be retired by the end of the year.

CompTIA  Server+ Practice Exams

CompTIA Server+ Jobs