The Ccna Certification


Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is the second level certification offered by the Cisco Systems, follow up of the ICND1 (Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices 1) exam through the ICND2 exam, and it can also be obtained by combining the ICND1-ICND2 into the CCNA exam.

It attest more advanced knowledge of Cisco devices, and of networking and related skills, than the first certification. It’s useful for engineers who can design switched or routed networks (WANs, LANs, broadband services), and want proof of their skills in arranging routers for administrative operations, of skills in switches customizations tailored for the networks needs, and in operating on LANs.

For this certification to be achieved, through the ICND2 exam, candidates are tested on topics such as:

LAN switching technologies:

  • Identification and implementation of switching technologies;
  • RSTP;
  • PVSTP, configurations and verification of PVSTP operation;
  • Etherchannels;
  • Knowledge of root bridges and of spanning tree.

IP routing technologies:

  • Processes of Cisco IOS routers;
  • Management of Cisco IOS files;
  • Cisco IOS Images;
  • Configuration and verification of status of a serial interface;
  • Routing protocols;
  • Configuration and verification EIGRP;
  • Router ID knowledge;
  • Path selection;
  • Passive interface.

IP services:

  • Recognition of high availability (FHRP);
  • VRRP;
  • HSRP;
  • GLBP;
  • Configuration, verification of syslog, and utilization of syslog output;
  • Knowledge of SNMP v2 and v3.


  • Troubleshooting and resolution of spanning tree issues;
  • Troubleshooting and resolution of routing issues;
  • Verification of root switch;
  • Verification of priority;
  • Verification of port states,
  • Verification of correct path selection;
  • OSPF area;
  • Interface MTU;
  • Network types;
  • Troubleshooting and and resolution of EIGRP issues;
  • Verification of AS number;
  • Verification of subnet;
  • Verification VLAN;
  • Troubleshooting and solutions to WAN implementation issues;

WAN technologies:

  • Identification of WAN technologies;
  • VSAT;
  • MPLS;
  • T1/E1;
  • DSL;
  • Frame Relay
  • VPN;
  • Configuration and verification of WAN serial connection;
  • Configuration and verification of Cisco routers;
  • Configuration of Frame Relay on Cisco routers;
  • Implementation and troubleshooting of PPPoE.

Taking a CCNA certification

CCNA certification validates the competency with medium-size routed and switched networks, and with implementation and verification of connections to remote sites in a WAN, of Cisco devices.

It’s recommended to anyone looking to present proof of their acquired skills to clients and employers. CCNA can attainad through two separate exams, ICND1 and ICND2, that are handled so the subject of ICND2 aim to complete skill testing after the introductory ICND1 course, especially practical knowledge. It has a validity of three years, before it’s required to take the exam again for renewal, or to progress to the CCNP certification.

To schedule the exam at the VUE testing center, it’s required either that the candidate is 18 years old or, in the case that they’re between 13 and 17 years old, for them to have their parents’ consent. The exam lasts 75 minutes in total, and features 40-50 questions, with multiple choice questions (single or multiple answer), drag-and-drop questions, fill-in-the-blank, router simulation, simlet and testlet questions. To obtain the CCNA certification, the minimum score is 825/1000. Signing up for the exam costs $295.

Read more

   CCNA Tutorial

   CCNA Practice Test  

Free Practice Tests